Board of Commissioners
Mille Lacs County, Minnesota

Resolution No.: 9-22-15-3
2015 TAX PENALTY ABATEMENT POLICY FOR COMMERCIAL PROPERTY

WHEREAS, Minnesota Statutes Sec. 279.01 provides that the due date for taxes is May 15 and a penalty
accrues thereafter, but also provides that "this penalty does not accrue until June 1 of each year on
commercial use real property used for seasonal residential recreational purposes and classified as class 1c
or 4c, and on other commercial use real property classified as class 3a, provided that over 60 percent of
the gross income earned by the enterprise on the class 3a property is earned during the months of May,
June, July, and August. In order for the first half of the tax due on class 3a property to be paid after May
15 and before June 1 without penalty, the owner of the property must attach an affidavit to the payment
attesting to compliance with the income provision of this subdivision."; and

WHEREAS, Mille Lacs Lake area businesses have experienced economic loss due to the early closing of
the 2015 walleye fishing season on Mille Lacs Lake by the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
on August 3, 2015; and

WHEREAS, The Mille Lacs County Board of Commissioners wishes to extend a similar payment
extension provision for second half payments payable in 2015 as is provided for first half payments for
commercial use real property used for seasonal residential recreational purposes and classified as class lc
or 4c¢, and on other commercial use real property classified as class 3a that earn over 60% of their income
during May through August; and

WHEREAS, Minnesota Statutes 279.01, Subd. 2 provides that the county board may, with the
concurrence of the county treasurer, delegate to the county treasurer the power to abate the penalty
provided for late payment of taxes in the current year.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Mille Lacs County Board of Commissioners hereby
authorizes the Mille Lacs County Auditor-Treasurer to accept second half 2015 property tax payments on
commercial use real property used for seasonal residential recreational purposes and classified as class Ic
or 4¢, and on other commercial use real property classified as class 3a, provided that over 60 percent of
the gross income earned by the enterprise on the class 3a property is earned during the months of May,
June, July, and August paid after October 15, 2015 and before January 1, 2016 without penalty, provided
that the owner of the property attach an affidavit to the payment attesting to compliance with the income
stipulation of this provision.

Adopted this 22" day of September, 2015.

ATTEST:

120N N7 L U
Lisa Herges A Phil Peterson
Interim County Administrator County Board Chairman



PURSUANT TO MILLE LACS COUNTY BOARD RESOLUTION NO. P-Ap-5-3

Mille Lacs County Board Resolution No. G -22-15 =3 provides that the Mille Lacs County Auditor-
Treasurer is authorized to accept second half 2015 tax payments without penalty if paid by December
31, 2015 on commercial use real property used for seasonal residential recreational purposes and
classified as class 1c or 4c, and on other commercial use real property classified as class 3a, provided
that over 60 percent of the gross income earned by the enterprise is earned during the months of May,
June, July, and August. The owner of the property must attach an affidavit to the payment attesting to
compliance with the income provision of this resolution.

| declare that | have carefully read the above statement and hereby certify that | am in compliance with
the stipulations of this provision.

Signature of Property Owner

Name and Business Qualifying

Tax Parcels :




